Academic Calendar 2020-2021

Wed.-Wed. Aug. 19 - Sept. 9 Mandatory team practices and tryouts for Upper School
Monday August 31 Opening Faculty Meeting
Monday September 7 Labor Day: School closed
Thursday September 10 Opening Day
Friday September 11 First full day of classes
Thursday September 24 Middle School Curriculum Night
Monday September 28 Yom Kippur: School closed
Tuesday September 29 Upper School Curriculum Night
Thursday October 1 Lower School Curriculum Night
Monday October 12 Fall Weekend: School closed
Friday November 13 Lower School Parent-Teacher Conferences and
IX Teacher/VI-VIII Advisor-Parent Conferences: No classes
Wed.–Fri. November 25–27 Thanksgiving Recess: School closed
Thursday December 17 Last day before Winter Vacation V-XII
Friday December 18 Last day before Winter Vacation K–IV
Monday January 4 School reopens
Monday January 18 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day: School closed
Tuesday January 19 Professional Development Day: No classes
Friday February 5 VI Teacher/IX-XII Advisor-Parent Conferences: No classes VI-XII
Friday February 12 Lunar New Year: School Closed
Monday February 15 Presidents’ Weekend: School closed
Friday March 19 Last day before Spring Break K–XII
Tuesday April 6 School reopens
Thursday May 13 Eid al-Fitr: School Closed
Monday May 31 Memorial Day: School closed
Wednesday June 9 Lower School Last Day
Thursday June 10 Middle School Last Day
Friday June 11 Upper School Last Day
Monday June 14 Closing Faculty Meeting
Wed. - Fri. June 16-18 Professional Development Seminars

Brearley respects and encourages the religious observances of its students and their families, whether or not those observances fall on school holidays. We ask only that parents notify their daughter’s Division Leader before an absence from school for a religious holiday so that teachers may adjust assignments accordingly. Except for reasons of health, family emergencies or religious observance, students are not excused from school during the academic year. This calendar is subject to change in the event of an emergency.


The Brearley School is a K-XII independent day school for girls in New York City. Empowering girls of adventurous intellect to think critically and creatively.
610 East 83rd Street
New York, NY 10028
(212) 744-8582 

590 East 83rd Street
New York, NY 10028
(212) 744-8582