2022-2023 School Year

Mon.-Wed.
Aug. 22 - Sept. 7
Mandatory team practices and tryouts for Upper School
Monday August 29 Opening Faculty Meeting
Wed-Thurs Aug 31-Sep 1
Overnight trips for VII, IX and XII
Monday September 5
Labor Day: School closed
Tuesday September 6
Orientation for Classes K-XII
Wednesday September 7
Opening Day for Classes K-XII
Thursday September 8
First full day of classes (Day 1)
Tuesday September 20
Lower School Curriculum Night
Thursday September 22
Upper School Curriculum Night
Monday September 26
Rosh Hashanah: School closed
Thursday September 29 Middle School Curriculum Night
Wednesday October 5
Yom Kippur: School closed
Monday October 10
Fall Weekend: School closed
Monday October 24 Diwali: School closed
Friday November 11 Lower School Parent-Teacher Conferences and

IX Teacher/VI-VIII Advisor-Parent Conferences: No classes
Wed.–Fri. November 23–25 Thanksgiving Recess: School closed
Thursday December 15 Last day before Winter Vacation V-XII
Friday December 16 Last day before Winter Break for K–IV
Tuesday January 3 School reopens
Monday January 16 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day: School closed
Tuesday January 17 Professional Development Day: No classes
Friday February 3 VI Teacher/IX-XII Advisor-Parent Conferences: No classes VI-XII
Monday February 20 Presidents’ Weekend: School closed
Friday March 17 Last day before Spring Break K–XII
Monday April 3 School reopens
Thursday April 6 Passover: School closed
Friday April 7 Good Friday: School closed
Monday May 29 Memorial Day: School closed
Wednesday June 14 Lower School Last Day
Thursday June 15 Middle School Last Day
Friday June 16 Upper School Last Day
Monday June 19 Juneteenth: School closed
Tuesday June 20 Closing Faculty Meeting
Wed. - Fri. June 21-23 Professional Development Seminars

Brearley respects and encourages the religious observances of its students and their families, whether or not those observances fall on school holidays. We ask only that parents notify their daughter’s Division Leader before an absence from school for a religious holiday so that teachers may adjust assignments accordingly. Except for reasons of health, family emergencies or religious observance, students are not excused from school during the academic year. This calendar is subject to change in the event of an emergency.


The Brearley School is a K-XII independent day school for girls in New York City. Empowering girls of adventurous intellect to think critically and creatively.
610 East 83rd Street
New York, NY 10028
(212) 744-8582 

590 East 83rd Street
New York, NY 10028
(212) 744-8582